With Thanks to Catalyst Consulting Ltd

Sponsors of the 2020 ICiPS Awards

Who can apply?

Any organisation who provides public services may apply. Our definition of public service is an activity provided by or on behalf of the public sector and activities that support members of the public, which are not profit driven.

How many applications can be made by each organisation?

There is no limit, but please include one application form per entry.

Is there a cost to apply?

No; but if shortlisted you will need to fund transport and accommodation to attend our conference where the awards will be made.

How to Apply


Key Dates

Closing Date:

Friday 13th December 2019 @ 5pm

Notification of Outcome:

Friday 17th January 2020.

Conference & Awards:

Thursday 9th July 2020.

Got any questions?

Please send any questions regarding the 2020 ICiPS Awards to debbie@icips.org

ICiPS 2020 Continuous Improvement Award Categories

Insight Award

This award recognises a team or organisation that has a culture of using insight gathered from outside of the immediate work environment, to learn from what has gone before in order to prevent re-inventing the wheel, identify best practice and avoid repeating mistakes.

Judging Criteria

  1. Examples that show that learning from others is common practice
  2. How this approach has been embedded within the team or organisation
  3. Examples of the value derived
  4. Details of any challenges faced and how they were overcome
  5. Evidence that lessons learned have been shared to make the process easier for others

Collaboration Award

The award recognises supply chain partnerships that can evidence outstanding commitment, passion and focus to continuously work on improving efficiency and effectiveness; working as one and going above and beyond statutory and contractual commitments, to provide exceptional and sustained improvements.

This is a joint application from all stakeholders involved, who could be one or more of private, public and voluntary sector organisations or end users. The application must evidence sustained improvement from a user perspective.

Judging Criteria

  1. Clear objectives for the forming of the collaboration
  2. Challenges faced and overcome
  3. Quantifiable benefits gained by the end user (we expect to see more than just financial benefits)
  4. Evidence that lessons learned have resulted in an approved approach to the collaboration

Inspirational Teams Award

Teamwork is essential to perform efficiently and effectively and will be found in organisations who have embedded a culture of CI. This award recognises a team who has shown exceptional commitment to practising continuous improvement.

Judging Criteria

  1. Evidence of a proactive approach
  2. Evidence of measures introduced that have contributed to embedding a culture of improvement
  3. Examples of improvements delivered (we are not judging the size of financial benefits)
  4. Evidence that lessons learned have been shared with other teams

Light Bulb Award

This award goes to an individual or team who have had a light bulb moment that has resulted in improved efficiency and effectiveness. This award is not simply about the size of financial benefit, or the biggest project; it could be a simple change that has been staring people in the face for years but never been noticed. What is evident is that the change has resulted in a step change in performance and/or revolutionised the experience of the customer.

Judging Criteria

  1. Clear description of the issue before and after the light bulb moment
  2. Evidence that improvement is embedded
  3. Quantifiable improvements achieved (we are not judging the size of financial benefits)
  4. Evidence that lessons learned have been shared with other teams

Citizen Improver Award

This award recognises individuals who have identified a public need and stepped in to provide it, whether this be through the formation of support groups, advisory services, providing ideas, or support. This award is for a charitable or not for profit company or individuals. It is for others to nominate a person or organisation.

Judging Criteria

  1. Evidence that the individual or organisation has stepped in to fill a gap in service provision
  2. Evidence of benefits gained by the stakeholder groups
  3. Evidence that the intervention or idea has longevity

Step Change Award

This award recognises an organisation who has achieved step change in embedding continuous improvement in the culture of their organisation.

Judging Criteria

  1. Evidence of measures introduced that have contributed to embedding a culture of improvement and supporting employees in practicing CI
  2. Examples of improvements delivered (we are not judging the size of financial benefits)
  3. Evidence of internal and external collaboration
  4. Evidence that lessons learned are shared across the organisation

Terms & Conditions

The Conditions of Award set out the standard terms and conditions applicable to all:

  • ICiPS is not responsible for safe receipt of applications; please include a delivery receipt when sending
  • Shortlisted applicants agree to send at least one representative to the annual conference where final judging will take place. The organisation will be required to additional information to illustrate the application. (Citizen improvers are not expected to exhibit)
  • Failure to attend the conference will result in automatic disqualification.
  • Nominees are expected to pay their own travel costs to the conference.
  • Shortlisted award nominees may attend the awards ceremony free of charge and are eligible for a discounted delegate rate to attend the conference.
  • The applicant agrees that the application can be shared with ICiPS members via the ICiPS data base.
  • The applicant agrees to take part in publicity; copies of photos taken at the awards can be provided at no cost.
  • Consultants may not submit applications based on work commissioned by another organisation without providing evidence of that organisations express consent, and clarification of who the award is to be made to.
  • The judge’s decision is final.